The Works of Richard Sibbes, 7 Volume Set

The Works of Richard Sibbes, 7 Volume Set

Sibbes, Richard


Free Shipping on orders over $49

$161.10 - 10% Off

List Price: $179.00

Book Condition:

Publisher's Description

More than anything else, Richard Sibbes was a great preacher. He never lost sight of the fact that the best Christian counselling is done through the patient and enlivening exposition of the Word of God. Sibbes excelled as a comforter of the troubled and doubting, but he also possessed the rare gift of illuminating every passage of Scripture he handled by drawing out its significance for his hearers and readers. The republication of the Nichol edition of his complete works is a notable event for all who have an appetite for helpful and faithful biblical preaching.

Volume 1 contains

  • A Memoir of Sibbes by A. B. Grosar
  • All the works published during Sibbes' lifetime, including A Description of Christ, The Bruised Reed and Smoking Flax, The Soul's Conflict with Itself and Victory over Itself by Faith, and Safety in Evil Times
  • Several other sermons
  • A brief series on 1 Peter 4

Volume 2 contains a series of sermons on

  • Bowels Opened (Sermons on the Song of Solomon 4-6)
  • The Spouse's Earnest Desire after Christ
  • A Breathing after God
  • The Returning Backslider
  • The Glorious Feast of the Gospel

Volume 3 contains

  • An Exposition of 2 Corinthians 1
  • Including notes by the editor, A. B. Grosart
  • An index

Volume 4 is a sequel to vol. 3 and contains

  • All Sibbes' other expositions of passages from 1 & 2 Corinthians including A Christian's Portion, The Spiritual Man's Aim; A Glance of Heaven, The Excellency of the Gospel above the Law

Volume 5 contains

  • All Sibbe's exposition of the other Epistles of Paul including The Art of Contentment, Christ's Exaltation Purchased by Humiliation, Salvation Applied, The Fountain Sealed, and The Fountain Opened.

Volume 6 contains expositions entitled

  • Josiah's Reformation, The Saints Comforts, The Rich Poverty, or The Poor Man's Riches
  • Several other sermons including The Bride's Longing (on Rev. 22:20)

Volume 7 contains

  • More than 30 further sermons and other writings of Sibbes
  • A bibliographical list of editions of his writings
  • A Glossary
  • Indexes of person name, topic discussed and texts expounded in all seven volumes

About the Author

Richard Sibbes was born at Tostock, Suffolk, in 1577 and went to school in Bury St Edmunds. His father, ‘a good sound-hearted Christian’, at first intended that Richard should follow his own trade as a wheelwright, but the boy’s ‘strong inclination to his books, and well-profiting therein’ led to his going up to St John’s College, Cambridge in 1595. He was converted around 1602-3 through the powerful ministry of Paul Bayne, the successor of William Perkins in the pulpit of Great St Andrew’s Church.

After earning his B.D. in 1610, Sibbes was appointed a lecturer at Holy Trinity Church, Cambridge. Later, through the influence of friends, he was chosen to be the preacher at Gray’s Inn, London, and he remained there until 1626. In that year he returned to Cambridge as Master of St Catherine’s Hall, and later returned to Holy Trinity, this time as its vicar. He was granted a Doctorate in Divinity in 1627, and was thereafter frequently referred to as ‘the heavenly Doctor Sibbes’. He continued to exercise his ministry at Gray’s Inn, London, and Holy Trinity, Cambridge, until his death on 6 July 1635 at the age of 58.

Book Details

3,850 Pages
Publisher: Banner of Truth
Publication Date: June 1973
ISBN 10: 0851513980
ISBN 13: 9780851513980