The Works of William Perkins, Volume 3
The Works of William Perkins, Volume 3
read sample
Book Details
  • 464 Pages
  • Publisher : Reformation Heritage Books
  • Publication Date : February 2017

The Works of William Perkins, Volume 3

Perkins, Williams

$50.00 MSRP

Endorsements (6)

Product Description:

Read a Tim Challies post on The History of Christianity in 25 Objects: The Works of William Perkins and The Puritans: William Perkins

Publisher's Description

This third volume from the Works of William Perkins collection contains Perkins's A Cloud of Faithful Witnesses, Leading to the Heavenly Canaan, which was his exposition of Hebrews 11. Within, Perkins contends that the whole chapter of Hebrews 11 is meant to urge readers to persevere in faith by persuading them of the excellence of faith. In his characteristic manner, Perkins brings the abiding importance of this message through careful exegesis and perceptive application.

In an age of cheap faith and easy believism, this exposition offers us a way to put our faith to the test, to try it against the faith of the "great cloud of witnesses," and, in the end, to put it into practice, assured that God's mercy will uphold us for life.

Books at a Glance

Read an author interview from Books at a Glance Part One and Part Two

About the Series

Reformation Heritage Books is excited to announce the publication of the inaugural volume of a projected ten volume set of The Works of William Perkins, often called “the father of Puritanism.” Can you imagine studying the Reformation without having access to John Calvin’s Institutes and commentaries? We believe that the printing of Perkins’s Works in modern print will revolutionize and transform Puritan studies, and be a great blessing to the church of Jesus Christ around the world.

Though Perkins is best known today for his writings on predestination he also wrote prolifically on many subjects. His Works filled over two thousand large pages of small print in three folio volumes, and were reprinted several times in the decades after his death. However, the complete Works have not been in print since the early seventeenth century. This modern typeset edition of the Works includes four volumes of Perkin’s expositions of Scripture, three volumes of his doctrinal and polemical treatises, and three volumes of his practical writings.

The first volume contains a masterful treatment of the Sermon on the Mount and an enlightening exposition of Christ being tempted by Satan in the wilderness. Scholars, ministers, and lay people will all profit greatly from reading this great Puritan writer.